PeopleSoft TNS:no listener Error with Application Designer

Here’s an issue I had to resolve on my PC when I switched Wi-Fi networks. Firing up Application Designer would result in a TNS:no listener error. While the primary troubleshooting step would be to look for firewall restrictions on the Port being used, this was something different. Even after switching off firewall on my PC, the same error kept appearing.

I had downloaded HCM PUM image 16 on a different network and installed it on the same network as well. But, when I tried to start the  App server on another network, the Application Designer failed to launch with the aforementioned error message.

PeopleTools version : 8.55.01

PeopleSoft Application version : HCM 9.2

Host OS : Windows 10 Home 64-bit

Provided below are the steps that I had followed to resolve this issue.

The error:

TNS No Listener Error

You can also verify the issue with the TNSPing Utility from the Command prompt on Windows.

TNS TNSPing No listener

Possible reason would be that the IP address would have changed. Login to the App server and type ifconfig to find out the current IP address, against the inet addr field.

TNS ifconfig.PNG

Modify the IP address in the hosts file as well as the TNSNames.ora file as well

TNS hostsTNS tnsnames.ora

Try pinging the database/service name using the TNSPing utility again:

TNSPing Ok

Hope this helps!  Have fun! 🙂

 

About Manikandan Surendren

A PeopleSoft Techno-functional Consultant. An engineering graduate in Computer Science. Technology Enthusiast. Movie freak. Gadget geek.
This entry was posted in Operating System, Oracle, PeopleSoft and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to PeopleSoft TNS:no listener Error with Application Designer

  1. Sasank Vemana says:

    Hey Mani! Good post.

    I had this happen to me as well. For some reason the IP address keeps changing often. Anytime, I get this error, I just do what you have suggested. It took me a long time figure this out when it happened to me. I kept restarting and restarting to no avail! 🙂

    • Mani 2.0 says:

      Hey Sasank!
      Thank you! 🙂 Yep, looks like the IP addresses aren’t Static – making them Static(which is done most organizations) would solve this issue.

Leave a Reply

