Issues with Oracle BI Publisher with Microsoft Word 2016

For PeopleSoft XML reports, we usually add the BI Publisher plug-in to MS Word, load the XML files, create RTF templates and the list goes on.

When you download and install the BI Publisher from PeopleSoft (Design Helper), at first load of Microsoft Word 2016, the BI Publisher tab should appear in the ribbon. If it doesn’t, it means either the add-in is restricted, disabled or does not work. Office 2016 isn’t certified yet to be used with Oracle BI Publisher, but there’s a workaround. Provided below are multiple steps that you can follow to get this issue resolved and have the BI Publisher tab appear permanently in Microsoft Word 2016.

For reference purposes, here are the details of my environment:

Windows 10 Home 64-bit

Microsoft Office 2016 32-bit

PeopleSoft HCM 9.2

PeopleTools 8.55.01

Step 1 : To find out which version of Office 2016 you have installed, open up an instance of Word 2016, File > Account > About Word

Find_Version_Edit

Step 2 : Download and install BI Publisher from Design Helper

Navigation : Main Menu > Reporting Tools > BI Publisher > Setup > Design Helper

Choose the setup file appropriate to your version of Microsoft Word 2016 (either 32/64-bit) and download the same

Design_Helper

Step 3 : Before starting with the installation, ensure all instances of Microsoft Word have been closed. If you’re on a remote desktop, ensure that all instances of Word have been closed by all users who have logged on to the server.

Step 4 : Once the installation is complete,  search for Enable or Disable Template Builder from the installed programs list in Windows

Enable_Or_Disable_Template_Builder

Step 5 : Click on Enable or Disable Template Builder

Enable_Disable_1Enable_Disable_2

Step 6 : Click OK

Click on Button 1

Enable_Disable_3

And you’re done!

Open up an instance of Word 2016 and see if the BI Publisher tab appears in the ribbon. Ensure the BI Publisher tab does not disappear by opening Word 2016 couple of times.

BI_Publisher_Tab_Office_2016

If it doesn’t appear at all or disappears if you open Word 2016 after a while, try the following:

Step 7 : Go to File > Options > Trust Center

Step 8 : Click on Trust Center settings

Trust_Center

Step 9 : Ensure that the settings are the same as in the screenshot provided below:

Trust_Center_Settings

Step 10 : Click on ActiveX settings and ensure that the settings are the same as in the screenshot provided below:

Trust_Center_ActiveXSettings

Step 1 1: Click on Add-ins and ensure that the settings are the same as in the screenshot provided below:

Trust_Center_AddInsSettings

Step 12: Click on OK and then select Add-ins from the Word Options dialog

Step 13 : Check if BI Publisher Template Builder for Word is listed under Inactive Application Add-ins

Step 14 : Select it and at the bottom of the dialog, select COM Add-ins and click on the Go button

AddIns_Inactive

Step 15 : In the COM Add-ins dialog that appears, select the BI Publisher Template Builder for Word checkbox and ensure that the Load Behavior is Load at Startup and not Unloaded.

COM_AddIns_LoadBehavior

Click on OK to close the dialog. Close the Word 2016 instance and open a new instance. The BI Publisher tab should appear in the ribbon.

If it still doesn’t appear in the ribbon, repeat Step 15 again. Ensure that the Load Behavior is not Unloaded.  If the Load Behavior has been reset or if the checkbox has been cleared, please follow the steps provided below.

Step 16 : Ensure that you have Administrator permissions to your system.

Step 17 : Open the run prompt – Windows + R and type regedit

Step 18 : Look at the following two registry entries:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Office\Word\Addins\TBAddIn

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Microsoft\Office\Word\Addins\TBAddIn

Step 19 : Look for the DWORD value named LoadBehavior

Registry_LoadBehavior

Step 20 : Double click on LoadBehavior and set its value to 3 for both Registry paths provided above

LoadBehavior_Value_Changed

Step 21 : Click on OK and exit the Registry Editor. Open the Registry again and ensure that the value has not been overwritten.

Go to step 15 again and ensure that the COM add-in is checked. Close and restart the Word 2016 instance again and see if the BI Publisher tab appears in the ribbon. The BI Publisher add-in will now appear in the Active add-ins list.

AddIns_Active

Hopefully all these steps should resolve this issue.

Please add any questions that you may have in the comments section.

Hope this helps! 🙂

About Manikandan Surendren

A PeopleSoft Techno-functional Consultant. An engineering graduate in Computer Science. Technology Enthusiast. Movie freak. Gadget geek.
This entry was posted in Operating System, PeopleSoft, Software. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Issues with Oracle BI Publisher with Microsoft Word 2016

  1. Pingback: #36 – Brace yourselves, Elasticsearch is coming – psadmin.io

  2. Michael says:

    Mani, I started your solution. But the first step did not work, I got an error saying: “Could not load file or assembly ‘TBCommon, Version=1.0.0.1, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=24d9992acb1e1d73’ or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified. There IS an OK button, but it did not take me forward into your solution. ANY idea?

    • Ganesh says:

      Hello Michael,

      I also got the same error like you mentioned and followed the below. At last works for me in word2016.

      Just run in cmd:
      \Program Files (x86)\Oracle\BI Publisher\BI Publisher Desktop\DotNetInstallFiles\setup.exe

      • Michael says:

        My apologies for the delay in responding, my mail server just showed 4 responses today. This issue was solved a couple of days after I originally posted. I tried all sorts of things, including what Ganesh recommends, but I think the silver bullet was a restart between some of the steps.

        Anyhow, it is working now, thank you to you both.

  3. Mani 2.0 says:

    Hey Michael,
    Thanks for commenting. Can you please try the steps listed in the post after running the setup.exe file from this location? – C:\Program Files (x86)\Oracle\BI Publisher\BI Publisher Desktop\DotNetInstallFiles\

    Please do let me know, if the issue still persists.

  4. Gloria says:

    Hi Mani,
    I’ve been trying solved this issue until step 6 but when I opened Ms.Word, BI Publisher Tab not shown there. So, I move on until Step 13 but BI Publisher Template Builder for Word not listed under Inactive List Add Ins. Kindly help Thanks.

    • Mani 2.0 says:

      Hi Gloria – can you post a screenshot of what appears for step 14 in your MS Word dialog? Have you tried running the Enable/Disable Template Builder as an administrator? If you could provide these details, that would help replicate the issue.

  5. Justin says:

    I had the same issue once I hit step 6. All I saw in the Addins was TBMenus (Template Builder Menus). I was able to resolve this by going to the DotNetInstallFiles folder

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Oracle\BI Publisher\BI Publisher Desktop\DotNetInstallFiles

    And then manually running the Following:
    ETBAddinSetup – Excel Template Builder Addin
    TBAddinSetup – Word Template Builder Addin
    TBMenusSetup – This prompted a repair

    Not sure If I needed to run all three but now I have the BIP Addin for both Word and Excel.
    HTH

  6. venkat says:

    hi mani ,

    i am using Bi Publisher 12c and my ms word version is 2013 32 bit ,but for bip 12c it can only have 64-bit template builder ,will 64-bit template will work for ms word 2013 32 bit ? Thanks

    • Mani 2.0 says:

      Hi Venkat – theoretically, your MS Word version should be the same as BI Publisher version. Are you getting any errors?

  7. Hi Mani,

    The word opens with the below error and cant see the BI Publisher in the word.

    Name:
    From: file:///C:/Program Files (x86)/Oracle USA/TBAddInSetup/TBAddIn.vsto

    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.Deployment.Application.InvalidDeploymentException: Reference in the deployment does not match the identity defined in the application manifest.
    at Microsoft.VisualStudio.Tools.Applications.Deployment.ClickOnceAddInDeploymentManager.GetManifests(TimeSpan timeout)
    at Microsoft.VisualStudio.Tools.Applications.Deployment.ClickOnceAddInDeploymentManager.InstallAddIn()

    Can you please let me know how to resolve it.

  8. Durai says:

    Thanks mani. It works

  9. Sudhir says:

    Hi Mani

    I started your solution and did all the steps that were outline above. I see the BI publisher ribbon but its totally different one from what you said above, here is what I see..

    I see menu2007.logon and all 2007 related items.

    I am on widnows 2010 64 bit and MS office 2016

    Please advice.

    Thanks!

    • Manikandan Surendren says:

      Hi Sudhir – what is happening if you click on the “Enable or Disable Template Builder” option from the Start menu?

      Please see Step 4 of the post for screenshots

      • Sudhir says:

        Hi Mani,

        I was able to Enable and Disable template builder wiht no issues. When I click the disable option, I see that the BI publisher menu is gone and when I click the eanble (button 1), I see it back. But it still shows menu2007.logon and all 2007 related items.

      • Manikandan Surendren says:

        Hi Sudhir – can you try un-installing BI publisher for Desktop entirely and then re-install again? Also, ensure that no Word documents are open during installation.

        Let me know, if it works.

  10. Sudhir says:

    Hi Mani
    I un-installed and re-installed the BI publisher and it didn’t work again. I also deleted the reg edit entry before I re-install and I still have the same problem. BTW I am trying to install the latest version (Oracle BI Publisher Desktop 12.2.1.2.0 for 64 bit Office on Windows ).

    Thanks!

  11. Mark says:

    My installation appears to be working except for a Message 39 when attempting to load XML data. However, in completing your steps, I find that in step 18, I do not see the following key in the registry:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Office\Word\Addins\TBAddIn
    The other one is there. Should it be?

    • Manikandan Surendren says:

      Hi Mark – have you tried clicking on Enable or Disable template builder? Is BI publisher installed on your PC or on a remote desktop?

  12. Roja says:

    Hi Mani – I really appreciate for these steps. Bt It’s disappearing when I close and again trying to open WORD (2016).

    • Manikandan Surendren says:

      Hi Roja – thanks for commenting. Did you complete the registry updates as well? What PeopleTools version are you on?

      • Roja says:

        Yes, I did all registry updates. But we close and again open BI-PUBLISHER is disappearing again, so it needs to setup again.
        WORD 2016 MSO(16.0.7830.1018) 32-bit

      • Manikandan Surendren says:

        If you look at Step 15 of the post, there is a “Load Behavior” value available. Can you please let me know what appears when you try to open Word again?

  13. Leslie says:

    Thank you for this! After following all the steps I am so close to getting this working – I can see the template as inactive in the Add Ins of Word, but it won’t stay activated. When I click on the checkbox, the Load Behavior does say At Startup. I have not yet seen it appear on the ribbon. I don’t have the first registry entry at all, but I do have this: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\16.0\Word. The second registry entry is correct on my system.

    Windows 7 64bit, Word 2016 32bit

    • Manikandan Surendren says:

      Hi Leslie – thanks for commenting.
      Can you ensure that macros are all enabled in Trust Center settings?
      Have you tried doing the Enable or Disable template builder part yet?

      • Leslie says:

        Yes, the Trust Center settings are as you indicated, and I did the Enable/Disable several times.
        After a lot of researching I finally got it working late last night – my missing piece was the Visual Studio Tools. I found the information at this Oracle link: https://community.oracle.com/thread/3976447.
        This installer is included in the BI Publisher package, here: C:\Program Files (x86)\Oracle\BI Publisher\BI Publisher Desktop\prerequisites\vstor40\ (use 32 or 64 bit, based on your OS). After installing it, the tab showed up on my ribbon!! I haven’t tested its functionality yet – but getting this to show up was a major hurdle.
        Thanks again for your help!

      • Manikandan Surendren says:

        Hey Leslie – no worries, thanks a ton for letting me know – I’ll update the thread with these details.

  14. Jordan Thompson says:

    Hello!

    I had the same issues and read through the entire blog. I am running Windows 7 64 bit, with Microsoft 2016 32 bit. When I downloaded and installed BIP Add-in for Word 32 bit, I did not get the ribbon. I made sure the trust settings were correct as above and also the add-in settings, but still did not see the ribbon OR the redegit :HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Office\Word\Addins\TBAddIn.

    I also got an error each time I clicked “Enable or Disable template builder for this user”

    I resolved the issue by navigating to C:\Program Files (x86)\Oracle\BI Publisher\BI Publisher Desktop\DotNetInstallFiles

    Then I launched:
    setup.exe
    TBAddInSetup.msi
    TBAddInSetup64.msi
    TBAddUser.exe

    Once I did that, the “Enable/Disable for user” window appeared and the ribbon was in Word when I opened it.

    Hope this helps

    • Suvisesh Banando says:

      I tried to install that setup files but its showing (Another version of this product is already installed) can you please help me for this…

      • Manikandan Surendren says:

        Suvishesh-can you Uninstall the existing version of Oracle BI publisher and try re-installing again?

  15. Pat says:

    I had this issue after downloading BI Publisher today. I could see that the Add In was there but the tab wouldn’t appear in Word for my user profile. Your first step solved the problem but I also followed the second set of steps to be thorough. Yours was the best advice I found online! Thanks so very much. This has been bookmarked in case my colleagues have a similar problem.

  16. vara says:

    Hi,

    I am facing the below error messages once i select field and chart options in word document.
    Please help on this.

    Chart : I’m having the following error. “Method not found: ‘Void TBCommon.XML2Treeview.draw(System.String, System.Windows.Forms.TreeView, Boolean)’ ”
    Field : I’m having the following error. “Method not found: ‘Boolean TBCommon.TBProperty.get_BvDefault()’ “

    • Manikandan Surendren says:

      Hi – what version of BI publisher are you using?

      Also, version of MS Word (32/64-bit) and operating system in use will help replicate this issue.

  17. GK says:

    Thank you for your contribution and solution, it works for me,

  18. Nitin says:

    Hi, I am working on Office 2013 Professional 32-bit and installed BI Publisher desktop 12 version. I am able to successfully install the plug-in. I am able to perform both Log in to the server and upload sample XML, however, I am getting error while clicking on field menu, data model fields are not getting populated and it is showing me”Method Not Found: ‘Boolean TBCommon.TBProperty.get_BvDefault()’.? Any suggestions. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

